A New Era

Walter’s adventures and thoughts

Echo Park

with 2 comments

Echo Park is very scenic.  Recently I visited it and was taken by the setting.  Cascading palm trees resting against a hillside,  sitting behind a lake had a very relaxing effect on the people who sat around enjoying the ducks.  Echo Park Bridge I sat there remembering the first time I visited the park.  I was 6 years old and eager to test my fishing skills.  My father sat patiently for hours while I fished.  I caught nothing.

Finally my father said it was time to go.  No sooner had he called an end to the days fishing expedition I felt a tug on the line.  I reeled in the  first catch of my life.  Once out of the water it was clear I could not boast  about my skills as I did not catch the fish.  It caught me.  Apparently it had been swimming by my hook when it got snagged by it.  The hook was embedded on the side of its body.   The saying”I will take luck over skill any day’ could not have been more poignant than at that moment.    After pictures were taken, I returned the fish to its home.

People do not realize how beautiful ‘Old Los Angeles is.  Downtown From Echo Park

Written by waltermelton

July 16, 2009 at 1:55 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Once out of the water it was clear I could not boast about my skills as I did not catch the fish. It caught me.”
    Walter,
    I particularly delighted in that sentence. It has freshness, innocence, humility and humour.
    thanks,
    Hélène

    Hélène

    July 18, 2009 at 10:57 pm

  2. Old Los Angeles looks really beautiful!

    Fanny Beuchat

    October 21, 2009 at 9:54 am


Leave a Reply

